ALUTIIQ MUSEUM  215 Mission Road, Kodiak, Alaska 99615   |  844-425-8844  |  view calendar > | search >
  • Home
  • Press Releases
  • Kodiak Community Foundation Funds Virtual Museum Tour - December 15, 2015

Kodiak Community Foundation Funds Virtual Museum Tour - December 15, 2015

With a grant of $876.00 from the Kodiak Community Foundation the Alutiiq Museum will extend the reach of its gallery. Funding will support high-resolution photographs of the museum’s long term exhibits so that they can be incorporated into a virtual tour. By clicking on items in the photos, visitors will be able explore artifacts and information from computers and mobile devices anywhere they have Internet access.

“There are people interested in Alutiiq heritage who can’t come to the museum,” said April Counceller, Ph.D., Museum Executive Director. “With this grant, we will create an online tour of our gallery so visitors from Kodiak’s rural village to communities across the globe can connect with Alutiiq heritage. Our gallery exhibits hold a wealth of information and we want to make them widely available.”

The project will begin in January will help from Kodiak photograph Alf Pryor, and include a redesign of the museum’s tri-fold brochure.

“We will also redesign our brochure and print copies for public distribution,” said Counceller. “We expect both resources to be complete in a couple months. With funding for photography we can now move this project forward. We are very grateful to the Kodiak Community Foundation for the opportunity to improve our educational resources.”

The Alutiiq Museum is a non-profit organization dedicated to preserving and sharing the cultural traditions of the Alutiiq, an Alaska Native tribal people. Representatives of Kodiak Alutiiq organizations govern the museum with funding from charitable contributions, memberships, grants, and sales.

Photograph: Alutiiq Museum staff members accept a check from Kodiak Community Foundation Representatives in the museum’s gallery. From left, Ginny Austerman, April Counceller, Mike Wall, Rebecca Pruitt, Frank Peterson, Jr., and Craig Johnson.